It’s About Time: Recycling with a cause

It has been several years since I have purchased any soda for myself. I gave it up when I started making ginger beer on my journey to rid our kitchen and bodies of per-packaged and processed foods and simplify the way I purchase things, along with making many of my own things in the kitchen.

I used to crush and save my cans to take in to recycle for money, but just never got around to it. We have lived in this house for 5 years now and it has been 3+ years since I stopped buying soda…… Yup, that’s a long time to hang onto these crushed cans. Recyle with a causeThere isn’t anywhere near us to take them to recycle for cash, and even though I could have recycled them with all our other recyclables, I just really wanted my cash….. but I don’t want to drive 30 miles (60 miles round trip) just to recycle cans. I can’t imagine I would get enough cash to make up for the gas I would use to get there, and I just don’t go to that part of town every often. So, the cans have been just sitting in our garage.

Recycle with a cause 2That all changed with I read a little note in our Home Owners Association newsletter. There is a lady a few streets over that is collecting cans to recycle for lung cancer. F A N T A S T I C !! A perfect place to take my cans.

I am happy to have finally cleared out the cans in the garage and I am happy to donate them to a good cause.

It is good to clear out another thing on my list!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in It's About Time, Little things, Miscellaneous, Recycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s About Time: Recycling with a cause

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I am glad that things worked out so well so that you could get rid of the cans and also help a good cause! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy. Last fall a few people told me where I could take them, but then life changed and here we are. I couldn’t believe my stroke of luck when I read the little ad in our home owners newsletter. It was great.

Leave a Reply

