Recyling and Re-using kitty litter buckets

A friend called me last week and asked if I wanted a few kitty litter buckets?

Aaahhh, Yes, please! I’ll take a couple.  It was perfect timing, because just the week before I had two very old buckets finally crack in the bottom. They still work for wedding and other things, but nothing to do with holding water.

I went to pick up my “couple” of buckets, and she kept bringing out more and more, and we kept loading them into the truck.

004I love using them around the yard:

  • When I am weeding
  • To carry manure from the wheel barrow to gardens
  • To carry produce from the garden
  • To set under leaky gutters when it is raining.
  • To soak a really dry potted plant or plant before planting in ground

Oh, I am sure there are other things I use them for, I just can’t remember right now.

What kind of buckets do you use around the yard for different tasks?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Little things, Miscellaneous, Recycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recyling and Re-using kitty litter buckets

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    We bought some five gallon buckets from Menards and I have been planting in them. Could you poke holes in the bottom and plant in those? They are a pretty sunshiny yellow! Nancy

    • That is a great idea Ronnie!!! I have used a few of the buckets to put my bagged things in like Green sand and dry molasses. That makes it so much easier than the big bulky bag and easier to move around too.

  2. Nancy says:

    I actually like the kitty litter buckets even better than joint compound buckets, they stack a lot easier for me. Like you, I use them for all kinds of things. I like to store things in the shed in them so the mice can’t get in….and isn’t it great to reuse things!

    • Hi Nancy – oh they do stack nicely! I am so happy my friend saves them They are so so wonderful to re-use!! I have a couple hanging out under spots where the gutters leak. Any extra water to use somewhere else is a plus. One day I will work on fixing the gutter…. when it cools down!!!

Leave a Reply

