Celery seed just staring me in the face

The celery leaf plant that I grew in the winter of 2011/12 did so well that this past winter I planted four of them. 4 nice celery leaf plants in the garden.

Celery leaf

Celery leaf

It was very easy to grow and I used it a lot in our green salads. stir fry and egg salad.

When the weather starts to warm up  I usually let several plants go to seed so I can collect the seeds to use the next year.

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal to read the rest of my post today.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celery seed just staring me in the face

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Is the Celery Leaf plant different than growing celery? And no, I wasn’t even thinking of celery seed which I buy when I was reading this! I am afraid a lot of my brain cells don’t function properly at times!! So if I plant the celery seed that I bought in a jar in the garden, might I get the celery leaves plant? Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, There are three types of celery (that I know of) – 1. Leaf Celery, also known as cutting celery (Apium graveolens var. secalinum). 2 – Celeriac, also known as celery root (Apium graveolens var. rapaceum). 3.Stalk Celery (Apium graveolens var. dulce) That’s the celery you are used to finding in the grocery store. The stalks of the leaf celery are very thin and it is mainly grown for its leaves and is considered to be more of a herb. I chop up the entire stalk and leaves when I use it and I just snip as many “stalks” as I need. The store bought celery, to me, is very mild tasting. The celery leaf I have grown has a lot more celery flavor to it. The bugs don’t bother it and it grows well in our winters here in South Texas. I have no idea what the celery seeds in the store would be from. I would imagine they are from the stalk celery or the leaf celery plants, but can’t be sure. It would be a neat experiment.

Leave a Reply

