Armenian Cucumber (Cucumis melo var. flex­u­o­sus)

My neighbor has been growing Armenian cucumbers (Cucumis melo var. flex­u­o­sus) for a few years now. They are amazing to watch grow and form.

Armenian Cucumber

Armenian Cucumber

Even though we call it a cucumber it is really classified as a melon. Also known as “yard-long melon” or “snake melon.”

They other day I was over at my neighbors checking on my pickling cucumbers and found one of his cucumbers hiding on the vine near the ground. Since he already had two in the refrigerator, I was able to bring this one home. I am not sure how something this long can hide, but it was.

The Armenian cucumber is very firm and, to me, has a mild flavor. This one didn’t last long. It was perfect for our afternoon snack.

Snack timeHere is a link to Seed Savers Exchange – Armenian Cucumber.

What types of cucumbers are you growing this season?

Sincerely, Emily

 

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Armenian Cucumber (Cucumis melo var. flex­u­o­sus)

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I was wondering what that cucumber would taste like but it looks very yummy. I am just growing the straight eight ones. Nancy

    • Hi Nancy – your straight eights will be good! My neighbor and I just pulled out all my pickling cucumber vines. They looked terrible and I didn’t want anything to happen to his Armenian cucumber vines. They are still doing so well. I brought home three more Armenian cucumbers with me tonight.

Leave a Reply

