Garage door insulation

I was talking to my God Father on the phone in June and he told me about this thermal insulation that he bought at Costco for his garage door. I asked a lot of questions and ended up checking the Costco website to find out when the salesman would be at a Costco store near me. As luck would have it, it was the following week.

box 1Our garage door faces West and gets the full South Texas sun for the entire afternoon. With the way the driveway is set up there is no way for us to plant trees to help with that at all so I have been wanting to do something on the inside of the garage door to help insulate the garage. Do something that would help it stay cooler in the summer months and warmer in the winter months.

Since I still hadn’t done anything, I headed down to Costco to see this product. I ended up buying the package to fit our garage door (I took a photo of the inside to take with me so I was sure to get the correct package.)

installing the barrier

installing the barrier

There might be another product out there that would do the same things and it might be less expensive. This really was a good deal for me (around $88 I think) because all the pieces are pre-cut so that made for a very easy installation for me. They estimate the install will take about an hour. It took me about 3 hours because I am still slow moving and have to stop a lot to catch my breath. I also took time before I put the barrier in to clean out the garage door lips so I would start will a clean everything. doneI have noticed a decrease in the temp in the garage. I don’t know how much of a decrease because I didn’t check the temps throughout the hot days before I put this barrier in.

A few things to know if you end up getting this produce:

  • The amount of barrier material is EXACTLY the amount you need for your garage. There is not waste and no extra material leftover!!
  • Made in the USA
  • Depending on your garage, you may have to cut and piece some together like I did, &/or make cuts to get around handles of door locks. It’s not a big deal.
  • The little sticky foam pieces they give you that hold the barrier in place are REALLY REALLY sticky. Once you place them, you WILL NOT be able to move them.
Really sticky

Really sticky

Have you insulated your garage door against the elements? How have you done?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Little things, Miscellaneous, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

