Swap and Barter without money (March 2014)

I am behind (really behind) in posting about the monthly swaps I have been going to.

I’ll get the ball rolling and make up for the ones that I have missed posting about. I will start with the most recent and work my way backwards.

We had nice weather for the March swap. The forecast mentioned rain, and I was hoping it would be rained out (because we need the rain!) It was a smaller group this month, and mixed in with many repeat swappers were some new faces.

Swap: March 2014

Swap: March 2014

At the end of the swap they have started a “social hour” where we can hang out, bring some food to share and have time to sit and talk and get to know each other more.

This month I bought home some new, and fun things.

  • Cabbage (locally grown)
  • Sweet potatoes
  • A bottle of mead
  • Sauerkraut (made with red cabbage)
  • Labaneh
  • Rabbit
  • Wild artemisia plant (2014 herb of the year)
  • Patty pan squash seeds
  • Comfrey plant (not in photo)
  • Shower sinus pucks (not in photo)

Last week I pulled a batch of sauerkraut out of the fermenting crock, and even though I have several cabbages ready to harvest in the garden, I was thrilled to get 4 more. And I am thrilled to have two crocks full of cabbage fermenting away, soon to be more sauerkraut! YUM!

I also made a barter for a rabbit (ready to cook.) I have been considering raising meat rabbits, but I’m not there yet (mentally – they are just so cute, or physically – no hutches, etc.) Instead I talked to the couple and we made a deal before the barter – I swapped two loaves of my black olive rosemary bread for a rabbit.

I missed seeing many of the new friends that I have made over the part year, but it was Spring Break week in our neck of the woods and many people were doing family things. Either way, it was another good barter day and I had a chance to meet some more new people.

Sincerely, Emily

 

This entry was posted in Local, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swap and Barter without money (March 2014)

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I still have not gone to our food barter here. It seems from the pictures they post on facebook that there is a lot of jams and jellies and things I am not interested in. Have not ruled it out completly. Maybe some day! Sounds like your barter is a lovely one! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, There are a lot of things at the barter that I go to that I am not interested in. I am not a big jam/jellie person, but I still bartered for some. They made great gifts. The barter in our area is listed on MeetUp (and facebook) and we can list what we are bringing and what we are looking for. It starts up conversations with other people who might have something you want. This is especially helpful for those with live animals. People won’t bring them unless someone wants them. It is hard on the animals and dangerous as our summer temps start to climb. There are also new people that will come just to see what types of things people bring and check out the who thing.

      I now have several people that I contact directly for things like meat, pecans, etc and I can either buy directly from them off site (no money is allowed at the barter)

Leave a Reply

