Blooming right now: Hyacinth Bean vine (Dolichos lablab)

This year my hyacinth Bean Vine has grown very slowly and isn’t as full and lush as it has been the past two years. But it is growing, and that is something to be said since this summer has been brutally hot and without rain. The first week in October it started flowering and it will continue until the first frost. It was worth the wait.

Hyacinth Bean Vine

The following is information on the Hyacinth Bean Vine (compliments of The Dirt Doctor -Howard Garrett)

The Hyacinth Bean, also called Indian Bean and Egyptian Bean, is a plant of the family Fabaceae is a species of bean widespread as a food crop throughout the tropics, especially in Africa. It is also grown as forage and as an ornamental plant.

CULTURE:       Very easy to grow in most soils.

USES:             Late summer color, shade for arbor or trellis.

PROBLEMS:   Black fuzzy caterpillars. Good news is that they grow up to be beautiful butterflies.

NOTES:           Name is now Lablab purpureus. *I read in another area on line that the raw beans are poisonous *

Full Sun (a plus for me in South Texas)

Tall climbing: Wide spreading   (My fence is 5’ & it would have climbed much higher)

Spacing: 9-12”

This plant is attractive to bees, butterflies and/or birds !!

Flowers are fragrant

Average Water Needs; Water regularly; do not overwater

Self-sows freely; deadhead if you do not want volunteer seedlings next season

Plant 1” deep

Germination – up to 14 -21 days

Plant will self seed in some climates

To collect seeds, allow bean to dry on vine.

Hyacinth Bean Vine Oct 2011

Here are a few other links to information and photos of Hyacinth Bean Vine:

I love the dark purple stems and veins in the leaves. That just adds interest and dimension to it as it grows before it blooms.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blooming right now: Hyacinth Bean vine (Dolichos lablab)

  1. Joanna says:

    Wow that really reminds me that we live in different climates! Your vine has beautiful leaves, such clear vein markings 🙂 It has turned cold here the last few days and there are a few little bean flowers left on my old bean plants and some sweet peas in a forgotten seed tray that I never planted out, Poppies appeared yesterday, little orange ones, and you still see roses everywhere but it is chilly at night and I don’t know how long these flowers will last. all the best, Joanna

    • I was thinking summer wasn’t going to end, but the past two nights it has been in the low 40’s. Still 78F today and back into the mid-high 80’s tomorrow. That hyacinth Bean Vine is beautiful. I love the purple veins in their leaves. I think it is such a pretty vine, and then when it starts to bloom it is just beautiful. I scattered Poppy and Larkspur seeds earlier this week. I have Blue Bonnets sprouting already. My cousin took photos of a beautiful blue poppy when she was in Alaska and I scattered some orange poppy seeds last fall, but they never came up. One day I will make a point to find blue and orange poppy seeds.

      • Joanna says:

        The poppy seeds come up on disturbed ground, so you need to turn it over, you probably know that. Hence all the poppies after the first world war in Europe on Flanders fields and why it is used as a symbol to remember that war here in England. The other sort of poppy, the big ones, are a perennial plant that comes up in the same place. The blue poppies are very difficult to grow, I think they are a different sort again, I have bought them and they have never reappeared, but the orange ones pop up in the crevices all over the place. That’s about the limit of my knowledge without looking it up properly x Joanna

      • My red ones come up w/o a problem. In fact I tried to collect the seed head this past spring so I wouldn’t have a million. I really wanted more larkspur to come up (you know those red poppies were just in the way in the blue and purple garden -hence the want for larkspur instead!) So the red poppy seeds will get scattered in the red and yellow garden. In California there was always the CA poppy – a smaller orange one – growing on road side and in fields. The orange one my mom had is taller and larger. I just found the little bit of seed I reserved from hers so I will put it in a area I can control and really water and watch for this spring. I can only imagine how beautiful your orange ones are popping up. I will search out blue seeds for next year since it is time to spread the seeds now. something to look forward to (and forget until I need them next year)

Leave a Reply

