S is for…

S is for…

Sales… I love Garage Sales, Estate Sales and Thrift Stores. I found these games at three different houses at our neighborhood garage sale this summer.  Now I just need to find people to play them with me.

Garage Sale Treasures

Scattergories…   It’s a game. I think it is a really fun game. Here is what wikipedia says about it.  It is a challenge (at times) to come up with words to fit each category of questions all starting with the same letter.

Sensible... I am very sensible person.

Sewing… My mom gave me a sewing machine when I was 15 years old. I have used the same machine all these years and it is still in good working order. It weighs as much as a large dinosaur, but I wouldn’t trade it for any other one. I have sewn clothes here and there, but I have mainly used it to patch clothes and towels. I Also use it to make fabric gift bags. I recently took a beginners sewing class to re-learn sewing from a pattern.I lucked out with a fabulous teacher. She took us through the workings of our machine (even my old dinosaur) and I now can oil the machine myself (I had been doing that but now I know a few more spots to oil).

Belize

Scuba… In college me and a friend decided to take scuba class to count as one of our gym credits. Then during spring break we went to Jamaica and got our certification.

My new garden sink!!

Sink… I just picked up this old farm house cast iron sink at an Estate Sale.  I have been keeping my eye out for a sink like this. It will be my garden sink and used to knock off and wash some of the dirt from the freshly pulled root vegetables before I bring them into the house. From time to time I will see one similar on Craig’s List, but they are asking $300 +/- for it and it is far away. I didn’t even pay 1/3 of that price and the sink top is in excellent condition. Now I have to figure out where I am going to put it.  I will try to work that out in the next few days so I can get it off the truck.

Other simply satisfying S’s:

  • Swim
  • Sing
  • Stones
  • Spices
  • Stainless
  • Stools
  • Slow Cooker (crock pot)

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S is for…

  1. Joanna says:

    I love the idea of a garden sink! I have a tap by the back door and a couple of rainwater collecting waterbutts but a sink, now that would be seriously useful 🙂

    • I am so excited to get the new garden sink hooked up. My husband helped me get it off the truck. When he saw it, he wais “WOW, I didn’t know it was that big” It is sitting in the middle of the back yard until I get home and work out a place to put it. very exciting!

  2. zonnah says:

    Scattergories is so much fun and that sink looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

