An uninvited visitor

I have no idea how I found this guy in our house, but I did. .

an uninvited guest

How did he get into the house? Well, I have an inkling and that inkling is spelled C…A…T!

When I first saw him, all that was sticking out was a back foot. I thought he was dead so I didn’t think much of it. I decided my husband could deal with him when he got home.

Wouldn’t you know, when I went back to take care of it myself he was gone. GONE! Oh man! GONE! Dang it!

I don’t have a problem with lizards and snakes WHEN THEY ARE OUTSIDE. Inside, well that is just different. Logically, I know this lizard isn’t going to hurt me, I just prefer them to be outside. In California we would have small lizards and geckos in the house quite often. No problem. This lizard is just bigger and I would much prefer him to be outside eating bugs for me.

This guy is a Texas Spiny Lizard (Sceloporus olivaceus) and here is a whole page of better images. I have been trying to get a photo of them for two years, but they move so fast. When I see them it is only after I have walked in their general area and they have taken off like a bolt of lightening and I spot them 15 feet away where they have stopped after their burst of speed. Not only are they fast, but they are loud; rushing leaves, scurrying up the tree, just plain loud.

So, now I have one of these Texas Spiny Lizards in our house. How the heck am I going to get him. Well, I didn’t. My husband got home and started to work at catching him and suddenly I had a brilliant idea – my new water garden fish net!

It worked perfectly. Quick. Done. He is outside finding his way in the world out back, probably right where he was to begin with until one of the cats brought him inside.  He is one lucky lizard (he probably didn’t taste so good and he is sort of scaly). I am also lucky he is living in my backyard. Our cats are pretty lazy in the hunting department, so this was a big catch for one of them. I will have a little talk with them about it though.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An uninvited visitor

  1. Dani says:

    LOL Emily, I feel exactly the same about lizards. I once stayed at my cousins house and there were transparent lizards on the ceiling above my bed – hardly slept a wink…

  2. Joanna says:

    We don’t get lizards here, I’m not sure why. Slow worms, and amphibians and toads. Speaking of which I meant to ask you do toads need water to lay eggs in? Or do they lay them in damp soil? x Joanna

    • I did some research on the toad egg thing. They need water, same as frogs. Frogs lay a big jelly-like mass while toads lay long strings of eggs – both need to be in water or the eggs will shrivel up and dry out. That is why I can’t figure out how I have so many toads this year. There was no fresh constant water source in our yard. This August my neighbor brought me a mass of leopard frog eggs for the two water gardens I started. They have hatched into tadpoles. Most places I have read that the toads mate in the spring. With our milder climate, I am not sure how that works. I have frog tad poles now, so toads may do the same thing here. I have found two toads in on of my water gardens, but I haven’t gone poking around to see if there are eggs or not. I have plans to start another smaller shallower water garden near the air conditioning slab where i found a lot of toads, hoping they will lay eggs there. Still need to get that in the ground and going for them. Sorry, long answer for your short question – toads & frogs both need water for their eggs to survive.

  3. Joanna says:

    I have done a little research too! We do have lizards in England. Three sorts, the common lizard, which apparently can be seen sunning on stony ground, the incredibly rare sand lizard, and ahem, the slow worm, which is a lizard which looks like a snake as it has no legs, and is the only one that I am aware of having come across from time to time, only I didn’t know it was classed as a lizard. Thanks for the info about the toad eggs. I wonder where the teeny weeny toads are coming from in our garden, maybe one of my neighbours has a pond that I don’t know about. We have a water feature thing which has a bucket that the water goes into, surely they can’t be in there? It has a mesh over it and stones too… the plot thickens…

    • The slow worm sounds interesting. There must be some sort of water around for your little toads to be appearing. Kind of like mine, I wonder were they came from. So happy to have them. I look forward to providing water for them so they don’t have to go so far to lay eggs. The plot thickens – yes.

  4. zonnah says:

    I am like you with lizards; luckily there are none where I live 🙂

Leave a Reply

