Saving Seeds: Okra

My neighbor (where I grew the zucchini this past fall) grows okra every summer. They eat most of it, share some of it and always save a bunch of seeds to use to plant next years crops and share.

Okra seeds 1

I started growing some of his okra in my herb gardens this year because I like the flowers. The deer agreed with me, they like the flowers (and the leaves) too, so I had very few flowers to see and no okra at all from my plants.

That doesn’t mean I won’t try again, although I will plant some inside the garden fence so I have a better chance of seeing the flowers and have something to harvest.

I also think I will try a different variety after reading a comment from Clara  over at Beadcharmer Designs. She mentioned how her mother pickles her okra. The one I grow is rather squat and fat, and Clara commented that the more slender varieties pickle better…. I’m game to try it. I have several bags of okra frozen, but I would still like to work towards finding other ways to preserve things. I don’t know if I will like pickled okra, but it is worth making a couple of pints to find out.

Okra seeds 2

As I was paging through the newest Seed Savers catalog, I plotted an okra that is the most similar to the one from my neighbors. Star of David (aka Old Fashioned Okra.) As I was looking at the other okra in their catalog, I spotted one called Hill Country Red….. what! I live in the Hill Country, and after reading its description and seeing that is is a South Texas heirloom, I am going to give it a try. It also says it is good for picking… yippee.

I better get my seeds ordered because Spring in our area will be here before we know it.

Do you grow okra?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Food, Garden, Seed Saving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saving Seeds: Okra

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Nope! Don’t grow okra and no interest too! lol Nancy

  2. narf77 says:

    I tentitively clicked “like” as I, like Nancy have only bad memories of my past (brief) dealings with okra and all things snotty. I love the flowers and the fact that it grows so easily. I might grow some next year and feed the pods to the duck. She LOVES slugs… 😉

Leave a comment