A is for…

I am joining in on Suzie’s Alphabet in August over at Chiot’s Run.

I am a few days behind, so I will try to catch up….

A is for …

Aviator… I am a pilot. I have had my pilots license since 1991. (OH MY GOSH – 20 years. wow, I didn’t think it was that long). At that time in my life I was flying a lot. Working as a flight instructor and on course for a career in aviation. That is how I met my husband. We both flew out of the same airport in Minnesota. We have moved around since then, and acquired a few airplanes along the way. Somewhere in there I wasn’t flying as much and went on to other things. I did let my flight instructors license lapse since I don’t plan on instructing again. Sometimes I regret that, but mostly that is fine. Right now none of the airplanes we own are in flyable condition. My husband flies all the time and is in the end of getting a T-33 T-bird jet flying that we bought this past spring. I have no plans to fly that plane, but he will. One day with the Cessna or Bonanza are up and flying I will get back into it.

Our T33 T-bird

Avid Gardener… at some point every day you can find me out in the yard working on something (dead or alive!) This time of year I am out there in the early morning and later evening to take advantage of the cooler temps to get something done. It just takes so much longer than it does when the temps are lower all day long. I enjoy growing herbs, vegetables, gourds and the most recent addition of two water gardens.

Cabbage

Amazed… working outside in the yard and gardens and even when I visit other peoples gardens, I am always amazed at the beautiful different forms of life out there.

Southern peas

Abstruse…  I have made a lot of changes in the way we eat and what we eat over the past few years. I have always been frugal with our money, but have made even more changes on how we spend it and what we spend it on. That has led to an interesting look on some of the faces of our friends. They just can’t seem to grasp or comprehend what I am doing or why. Why would I make bread if I can buy it? Why would I go through such great efforts to collect rain water when I can just turn the faucet on?

Anole Lizard on horseradish

Alone… I like being alone.  By myself.  No one else around.

“A” things I like… (just to name a few)

  • Apples
  • Anole lizards
  • Asparagus
  • Appetizers
  • Accents
  • Amethyst
  • Amulets

There are lots of words out there. I look forward to exploring “B” next.

Sincerely, Emily

Addition (oh there is another “A” addition): I completely missed a really big “A” for me…

Ambidextrous…  Born right handed, but I have always been able to use my left hand for various right handed things. My mom is a leftie and does many many things right handed. As I have gotten older, I find I use my left hand for more and more things. And over the past 5-6 years I am doing a lot more left handed. I have struggled with tendonitis in my right hand and forearm and some shoulder issues so there are many times it is just easier to use my left hand and the more I use it, the easier things are. From using a screw driver to stirring up granola bars. I have been eating left handed since a family trip to Australia when I was 13 years old (you know – hold the fork in your left and cut with your right, never put them down to switch – I think it is called “European Style”)  Now, even if I am eating soup, I mostly use my left. It just give the right hand a rest and I am pretty used to it now and just do it naturally. Cutting bread – I am still getting comfortable with that one, but it will be easy soon enough.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A is for…

  1. Joanna says:

    Hi Emily, I love the toad picture and the one of the Anole Lizard. While we have a toad in our garden somewhere we don’t get lizards. I am looking forward to coming back to read some more of your posts soon. best wishes Joanna

  2. Dani says:

    Emily – Wow – a pilot! Good for you.

    As for abstruse – your friends will remember you when, due to tough economic climes, they are suddenly faced with baking bread and when they have a shortage of water … good on you 🙂

    And I also prefer my own company – most of the time…

  3. zonnah says:

    I am really excited about reading all your letters. I wanted to do this but felt it would have been a bit much after my 30 days posts. I am with you on the Alone word. I love to be alone too.

    • your 30 day photo series was nice. I liked it a lot. I will do my best to keep up with the alphabet series, there might be several combo days – more than one letter at a time. so far so good.

  4. compostwoman says:

    I am ambidextrous as well…fancy that!

    Am looking forward to reading some more of your alphabet posts. I keep on thinking of lots of other attributes I could have used, but only after I have posted and moved on!

Leave a comment