There is never enough time…

I really prefer to be ahead of the posting game on this blog where I have at least a few posts written and ready to go. But the past few weeks I seem to be running behind and always chasing my self-imposed “deadlines!”

So, nothing formal today, just a few photos of what has been going on this week with hopes of expanding on them at a later date.

I helped my neighbor harvest some of his potatoes earlier this week. They were incredible beautiful. I brought a few home and had them for dinner with a version of my SOS (more on that in a later post I hope!)

Harvesting potatoes at the neighbors

There has been an unnatural amount of the malta star-thistle in our yard this spring. A few years ago they were all over the front yard and I dug most of them out. I have never had them in the back yard until this year and they are everywhere. EVERYWHERE! They are driving me crazy! Hope to post more on this too!

Malta Star-thistle (centaurea melitensis)

The waterlilies have been blooming. They are so beautiful. Had 5 in a row. Now they are taking a bit of a break.

More waterlilies blooming

I just had to pick the peaches. I went out there on Sunday and another one was missing. I only started with 6 and was now down to 4. So, I picked them. We just ate two of them last night. They were W O N D E R F U L!

Warning: Possible “Yucky”  or “Gross” photo for some of you is next. Just a few soldier fly larvae hanging out in the hand holds of our compost tumbler. They are aquatic or slightly aquatic. From what I have found, these flies are the good guys, although I need to look into it a bit more.

soldier fly larvae

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Fruit Trees, Water Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There is never enough time…

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, Thanks for visiting my blog! Yuk on larvae fly. Is there a picture of your compost tumbler and does it work well? Will be waiting to hear what your S.O.S. is! My potatoes have not even peeked out yet. Hope they do! I love your water lilies! Nancy at Cozy Thyme Cottage

  2. Victoria says:

    Ok – reminder to let the hub deal with the compost, just in case 🙂
    everything in the garden looks great! I feel a little behind too…once my mountain of laundry is done, I’ll post till my heart’s content!

    • Hi Victoria – we have been getting a lot of nice rain so I have a mountain of laundry also. More rain in the forecast. Eventually I will just have to do it and hang it around the house. Whatever works.

Leave a Reply

