SSFC: Grilled cheese w/jalanepo and sliced tomoates

Eight weeks into the Southern Food Challenge and I once again find peppers in my midst!

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Another day, another pepper. And that is a good thing.

Keeping it simple around here. Grilled cheese was the answer. It happened to be the answer for a few lunches this week.

I used some homemade monterey jack cheese and homemade bread. No local flour went into the bread, but I do use whey from my cheese making as the liquid in my bread. The milk I use for my cheese is local, so therefore the whey is local. It is great to be able to use the bi-product of cheese making (whey) in other things. When I make a wheel of cheese, I use 4 gallons on milk and that creates a lot of whey. I use what I can fresh and freeze the rest. Sometimes there is just too much, so I will use it to water the plants (in a diluted form.) If you have animals, you can give it to them. Me, I put most of it into my bread making. The loaf seems to have a more deep and rich flavor. I have no idea how to describe that flavor, it is just plain good.

But I really got sidetracked here. Back to my SSFC meal…

The cheese I used has been aging for quite a while and it was really hard and crumbly. It had really developed a wonderful strong flavor and it pared well with the spice of the jalapeno.

The tomatoes didn’t end of inside the grill cheese as they sometimes do, so I just ate them fresh and sliced on the side. They were so juicy and full of flavor. f

  • Bread – Homemade
  • Cheese – homemade using Strykly milk
  • Jalapeno – from my garden
  • Tomatoes – from my neighbors garden

Are you adding more locally grown produce &/or meat into your meals lately?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Garden, Homemade and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SSFC: Grilled cheese w/jalanepo and sliced tomoates

  1. Angela says:

    I LOVE grilled cheese! The temperatures “cooled off” to the 80s over the weekend and it got me thinking about tomato soup now that some of my tomatoes have ripened. And grilled cheese is the perfect complement! We’re growing jalapenos too, I’m going to try them in my sandwich. Thanks for the tip!

    • Hi Angela. Glad to hear your temps came down a bit. That will help. You are right – your tomato soup and grill cheese are a perfect combo. I can’t even think about soup until maybe October. It is just too hot here.

  2. yum. I think we are having grilled cheese tonight, although none of my peppers are big enough to go in. 🙂

    • Funny. I had another grilled cheese at a friends house today. Loved it and it was grilled cheese with sliced tomatoes on the side. So Funny. She didn’t know about my grilled cheese post today until I told her. I could eat grilled cheese several times a week, they are so good.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    I love grilled cheese but not hot peppers! Guess I am wimpy! Nancy

Leave a Reply

