SSFC: just a small local snack

Back in June I had pretty much written off the hopes of harvesting many, if any, tomatoes this season.

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

It has been another hot and dry spring and summer. Even with regular watering, the plants just don’t do too well. I pulled up all (well, almost all) the tomatoes plants before we left for England in the end of June. I left a lone cherry tomato plant.

It sure is dry

I have neglected this cherry tomato plant. I haven’t watered. I haven’t talked to it. Nothing.

Last week when my mom and niece were here, my mom came in with three tiny, it-see bit-see cherry tomatoes. One for each of us.

Yesterday I walked by the lone cherry tomato plant and the color caught my eye. Red, ripe cherry tomatoes. WOW! That was a nice surprise.

Maybe I should cut it back (I really should have done that over a month ago) and start watering it again and see what happens.

Be sure to click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page to see what the others are up to.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SSFC: just a small local snack

  1. Jane says:

    Maybe you should have left all the plants in. Who knows, you might have got a harvest yet. Or the deer might have 😉

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Even a few taste so good! Hope you get more. Enjoy! Nancy

Leave a Reply

