It’s About Time: Gramps brass hooks

My Gramps loved different brass hooks and used them all over his house to hang things like pictures, and lots of other things too.

A few years ago I drove a load of stuff from Minnesota back to our house in Texas and one of the boxes had some of Gramps hooks. Since then they have sat in a drawer.Gramps brass hooks 1 I really wanted to get them out and use them, but it took me a while to figure out what I was going to use them for.

It turns out I don’t really need to use them, I can just display them and enjoy looking at them.

Gramps was really into eagles and had several eagle hooks, but there were a few other interesting hooks, do I tried to come up with a way to mix them up and display them all together.

Gramps brass hooks 2

I divided them up and hung them on small strips of wall between a few doors in our kitchen. I think they look great – aside from the lowest hook in the first photo. I need to take that one down, bend it a bit and put it back up.

The interesting masks with the long noses came from Mexico or another country further south. Gramps took many trips south of the border starting in the 1920’s.

I am glad these are finally out of the drawer and up were I can see and enjoy them. It’s about time!

Do you have any interesting hooks that you use or display?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in It's About Time, Little things, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s About Time: Gramps brass hooks

  1. What a great way to display a very interesting collection!

    • Thanks Sheryl. I am glad I finally figured out how to display them and finally got around to getting them up on the wall. My Gramps actually used them (versus displaying them) they were used to hang pictures or things in the kitchen. He had some by the back door where he hung is shoe horn and hats.

Leave a Reply

