Making Crackers: It’s About Time !!

OH MY GOSH ! Why did I wait so long to make crackers !

I have been saving cracker recipes for a few years now. I was past due to get on with it and make crackers, so this past Thursday my friend and I did! My friend came over and we had a few things to do on our list. Crackers came first and I will tell you more about the other things we did in another post.

We decided to go with a recipe I had titled as “Jane’s Cracker” thinking it was from Jane over at Hard Work Homestead. As it turns out, after talking with Jane, that it isn’t her recipe at all. No wonder I couldn’t find a post on her blog so I could link to it. I still don’t have any idea where I got this recipe and why I have titled it “Jane’s Crackers” so if you are out there and your name is “Jane” and this is your recipe, please let me know because I would like to give you credit.

Jane’s Crackers

  • 4 cups flour (I used 2 c organic white, 2 c organic unbleached wheat)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 3/4 cups fat (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 1/3 cup water

Mix everything together. Roll out your dough very thin with either a pasta roller or your rolling pin. Cut into the shapes that you like. Sprinkle with sea salt or any mix of herbs and seasoning you enjoy. Bake at 375F for about 15 minutes.

We mixed in the oil first because the coconut oil was hard, so I used my hands, breaking up the oil and I mixed it in to break apart the lumps. We then added the water and worked it into the mix

The dough held together well and we set it on a floured board and cut it into sections so that we could start rolling it through the pasta roller.  We had a few handicaps throughout this whole process. The first was the pasta roller. Our counters are thicker than most so the C-clamp doesn’t fit over the edge of the counter to hold down the pasta roller. Between the two of us and our 4 hands we worked it out.  It went a lot faster than when I roll out pasta on my own with only my two hands.

The second handicap is that I only have one useable rack in our oven. For those of you who have been reading here a while, you will know exactly where my second over rack is… for everyone else, you can read about it here. With only one rack, it took us twice as long to bake all the crackers. Not a big deal because we have lots to do when we are together. Lots to talk about. Lots to look at. The time flew by.

Once we had the dough rolled pretty thin (5 on my pasta roller) we positioned in on the parchment lined cookie sheet and cut it to a length that fit. We placed as many strips on there as we could get.

The first few batches we uses just sea salt as our seasoning and we used a little roller that I have to press it into the dough. For the next batches we mixed up a blend of crushed rosemary, garlic powder and poppy seeds to sprinkle on the dough. After that we sprinkled a tiny bit of sea salt and again lightly rolled it to press it into the dough (one swipe with the roller without much pressure at all.) Our third seasoning mixture was using my Italian Herb mixture and a little sea salt.

Next step: cut your dough into the shapes that you want. At first I tried using a small paring knife, but that didn’t work so well, so we got the pizza cutter out and that worked very well.

After cutting the dough into shapes it was time to bake. The timing ranged from between 12-14 minutes for our batches. This was based on the thickness of the dough. I know ever oven bakes a bit differently and has different hot spots, so I would recommend that you take a peak around 12 minutes and see what they look like. Also keep in mind that if there is any moisture left in your crackers that will lead to a softer cracker vs. one that has more crunch. So we baked ours long enough that they all either had a nice golden look to them or a bit more brown.

Even though some of ours got a bit more brown than others, I was impressed that they all had great flavor.

I guess I will have to rename this recipe “Emily’s Cracker” and hope to, one day, figure out where they heck I found the recipe. I have been looking at it for quite a while, always referring it as “Jane’s Crackers” but I will laugh now knowing it’s not the “Jane” I thought it was.

All this talk of “Jane” reminds me that that she does (really she does) have another cracker recipe that you might be interested it. Sourdough Salt Crackers. Once I finally get around to starting a sourdough starter, I will try that recipe out. Until then (you know how I like to take my time) I will be happy with this recipe.

Other “It’s About Time” Posts:

Oh there are so many things on my list. I am so so glad that I finally made crackers. It’s about time.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Herbs, Homemade, It's About Time, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Making Crackers: It’s About Time !!

  1. itchbay says:

    Yum! Another reason I *need* a pasta roller!

    • When I first started reading about crackers all the recipes I saw mentioned using a rolling pin. After I found my simple pasta roller at a thrift store I realized I could use that and now see several recipes out there where people use that. I will tell you, that my pasta roller will be getting a regular work out making crackers! Keep your eyes open in thrift stores or on Craig’s list. I found my second one on Craig’s list and it has cutters for linguini and spaghetti as well as just the flat roller.

  2. Jane says:

    Yummy yum yum. And with the cheese…I am drooling. On a funny note, I made sugar cookies the other day and something must have gone wrong cause they dont taste like sugar cookies and they are hard. But they do taste like animal crackers. So I have been telling everyone I meant for them to come out that way. Another cracker recipe. That is my story and I am sticking with it 😉

    • Hi Jane – yes the cheese! My husband can’t eat a cracker with out cheese. Me – oh I could eat the whole bag w/o cheese. Your sugar-crackers or animal-cookies sound actually good. interesting. I made some gingersnaps the other day and they were just way too soft. I would like a bit of “snap” in there. maybe I should take you recipe and add the spices and see what happens. I have two more recipes to try still. Just trying to use that KitchenAid a bit. ha

  3. annieriedora says:

    These look so interesting to try. I found a simple recipe for spelt crackers I wanted to make for the DDC, but never got around to it. These look richer because of the oil. The spelt recipe I found was water, flour and salt. And seasonings.

    The coconut oil I think is something that would make them have more flavor. Now I need to make a “It’s about time” list. For when I get out and about.

    Annie

    • These are so good. I thought about using spelt, but went with half white and half wheat for these batches. I liked both the seasonings that we mixed up. I forgot to sprinkle sea salt a few times and I did miss that. I don’t like real salty, just a bit. My “It’s About Time” list is super long. I am glad I have a friend that is having as much fun as I am doing these things. We motive and inspire each other. I have a list that I finally started (and keep adding to) and we work of my list and her list and seem to get getting things done! We schedule a day once a month just started in Jan, it has been fun!

  4. Pingback: Blooming right now: Poppy (papaveraceae) | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Joanna says:

    Splendid crackers, you are lucky to have a baking buddy – I should make some more crackers this week to take up to my Dad at the weekend, I think he would like them too 🙂

    • Have a nice visit with you Dad. I am sure he will enjoy the crackers !! It is a lot of fun to have a baking buddy. We are checking so many neat things off both or our “lists” (baking and other.

  6. Yum, I am going to save this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

